ACE ASSOCIATION OF CONSERVATION ENGINEERS

Annual Business Meeting October 10 & 12, 2022

MEETING Minutes

Executive Board Attendees:

Loren Woodin, President
William H. Scheperle, Past President
Howard Thomas, Past President
Dale Brockamp President Elect
Mattheuw Prenger, Treasurer
Sarah Lau, Secretary
Taylor Kroll, Director At-Large
Mark Urbanovsky, Director At-Large

The ACE business meeting was called to order by President Loren Woodin. Motion Matt 2nd by Howard to approve minutes. Motion passed.

Howard Thomas encouraged members to go to the ACE website to review the minutes from the October 11 and 13 business meetings in Springfield, Missouri. A vote to accept the minutes will be held on October 12.

President's Report:

Records from Meetings Northwest show 55 active ACE members. The Wyoming conference has 37-39 attendees, including guests. Attendees will be members of ACE for the following year. This year we have 3 exhibitors.

We are recruiting board members. Board members who have agreed to serve for another year are: Treasurer, Matt Prenger; Secretary, Sarah Lau; and Director At-Large, Mark Urbanovsky. Dale Brokamp will be President, Loren Woodin will move to Past President, and Bill Scheperle will serve one more year as Past President. Board members needed are President Elect, and a Director At-Large.

Board meetings are held virtually approximately every other month.

Treasurer's report through end of 2021:

Checking \$5,533.27 Savings \$11,520.92 CDs \$21,611.97 Total Deposits \$38,666.16

Scholarship Fund (In CD above) \$3,987.87

2021 Conference Report

Deposits \$26,836.00 Expenses \$20,880.44 Balance \$5,954.56 Treasurer's report vote: Howard move, second by Bill. Motion passed.

Committee reports:

Membership - Terry Boyd held a couple of conference calls for the membership committee. Members were assigned groups of states and other organizations to reach out to. Terry's goal for this coming year is to reach out to State organizations within 500 miles of Texas to encourage them to attend. Several states this year sounded enthused about attending next year's conference. Terry would like to get the membership committee up and running this year.

Scholarship – At the request of the Schalk family the Executive Board voted to add Evelyn's name to the scholarship. Their family donated \$1,000 to the scholarship this year in her memory.

One student applied for the scholarship this year. The scholarship committee recommended to award the scholarship to Reid Sutton, a Master's student in hydrology at the University of Idaho, who has worked for the Forest Service seasonally for several years. Later in the conference, we will watch the presentation that he submitted.

There will be a "Deck of Card 50/50" fundraiser during the conference to raise money for the scholarship fund.

We could consider changing the date of submission for the scholarship to a time that lined up better with the school year to promote more competition; however, the current timing of submissions being due in September lines up well with the ACE Conference.

Awards – One award was selected and will be announced at the banquet.

History – Gary noted that several award winners, conference locations, and conference dates are missing from the website and asked about getting that updated. There was also a suggestion that the History committee research members and past members who qualify for Life Membership so they can be contacted.

Time and Place – Mark Urbanovsky has agreed to host the 2023 conference in Texas. They are leaning strongly toward Fredericksburg, Texas, for the location.

Past Presidents and By-Laws – Nothing to report.

New business: None.

Loren went over logistics for the Tuesday fieldtrip. We'll need to split up between the bus and a 12-passenger van. Room 190 is the Hospitality Room. Thursday morning we'll be meeting at 7:30 for the field trip.

Howard moved to renew contract with Meetings NW. Matt 2nd. Motion passed.

Election:

Member at large nominations: Mark Urbanovsky and Nara Sin. Howard moved to vote. I seconded. Motion carried.

Treasurer nomination: Matt Prenger. Motion carried.

Secretary: Sarah Lau. Motion carried.

President-elect: Catalina Weaver. Motion carried.

Dale Brokamp moves from President to President Elect.

Past presidents: Bill Scheperle and Loren Woodin.

There was some discussion about recording the talks so that people could access some CEUs without traveling. Mark said he would look into the possibility of doing that in Texas.

Matt moved to adjourn. Nara second. Motion carried.